Main Menu

Dallaire Public Service Award


The Dallaire Public Service Award was established in 2003 and named after GSB former managing director Greg Dallaire, who believed that a commitment to public service would always be an important part of GSB’s character.

Each year, the award is given to one GSB staff member, attorney or alumnum who best exemplifies the firm’s commitment to service through their extraordinary contributions in the community and/or pro bono involvement. The award honors individuals whose actions benefit the community in a way not related to their employment responsibilities and serve as a model or exemplar for others.

The notable achievements of past winners have ranged from groundbreaking litigation to enduring contributions spanning several years. Recent recipients of the award have included:

Our Star in Skyway – Mary Goebel (2018)

Mary, the firm’s Billing Coordinator in Seattle, was given the Dallaire Award for her tireless work as a community organizer in Skyway, an unincorporated part of King County along the southern fringes of Seattle, often depicted in the media as an area burdened by gang activity. For more than a decade, Mary has devoted significant out-of-work time spearheading a number of activities and events aimed at improving the Skyway neighborhood and the lives of its low- and middle-income residents.

Hon. Bobbe J. Bridge Presented Dallaire Public Service Award (2017)

GSB recognized the Honorable Bobbe J. Bridge, former justice of the Washington State Supreme Court and GSB alumma, with the firm's Dallaire Public Service Award. Judge Bridge was praised for her decades of unfailing advocacy on behalf of children, women and the LGBTQ community, and in particular, utilizing the privilege of her position to champion for a fairer and more representative justice system in which historically marginalized groups could be heard.  

Other previous award recipients include:

2016:  Bruce McDermott
2015:  Eldon Greenberg
2014:  Sara Sandford
2013:  Elaine Jackson
2012:  Ed Sullivan
2011:  Jennifer Poole
2010:  Ron Knox
2009:  Sam Kauffman
2008:  Marjorie James & Ken Schubert, Jr.
2007:  Gregg Rodgers
2006:  Lori Salzarullo
2005:  David Canary & Celia Howes
2005:  Verna Seal
2004:  Don Scaramastra
2004:  Carolyn Prince
2003:  Kathleen Brown

Back to Page